Tag Archives: Harry Kane

Real Madrid prepared to offer three players in part exchange for Harry Kane – report

Embed from Getty Images

Spanish giants Real Madrid are prepared to offer up to three players in a bid to tempt Tottenham Hotspur to part with striker Harry Kane, according to a report from Spain.

Real are reportedly willing to offer former Spurs players Gareth Bale and Luka Modric, as well as striker Karim Benzema to try and secure a deal for Kane, according to Spanish news outlet Diario Gol.

Diario Gol also claim that Spurs will not let Kane leave for less than €200 million (£179 million) – hence the willingness to involve a swap deal.

But all three players will be seen as expendable to the Spanish side. Bale has been blighted by injuries in the past season, which has affected his form and value. Meanwhile Benzema would be the player most likely to lose his place in the side if Kane were to join Madrid. Finally, while Modric is still highly rated, his is 33.

However, nothing has been said by Spurs, and this story comes without quoting any sources, so it is best filed under ‘speculation’ – for now.

Harry Kane the only British name on 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist

Embed from Getty Images

Tottenham Hotspur and England striker Harry Kane is the only British player to make the 30-man shortlist for the prestigious Ballon d’Or – although plenty of other Premier League players have made the cut.

Kane has been in superb form in 2017, scoring 43 goals in 37 games for club and country, and has established himself as England’s number one striker.

But he is the only British name there. Real Madrid’s Gareth Bale – a fixture on the list in recent years – misses out after a season plagued by injury. Jamie Vardy, who made last year’s list, isn’t included after a mediocre year for Leicester City.

Perhaps one English player to be disappointed to miss out is Kane’s team-mate Dele Alli, who has had a stellar 12 months that have seen him establish himself as a star in the Premier League and an automatic pick for England.

But the Premier League is well-represented in the shortlist, with 6 players included. They are: Philippe Coutinho and Sadio Mane from Liverpool, Chelsea midfielders Eden Hazard and N’Golo Kante, Manchester United stopper David de Gea and Manchester City’s midfielder Kevin De Bruyne.

The favourites for the award are, as usual, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who have shared the past 9 awards between them – Messi leads 5-4 – with Paris St-Germain pair Neymar and Kylian Mbappe also likely to be in contention.

The other nominees are: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Edinson Cavani (Paris St-Germain), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Edin Dzeko (Roma), Radamel Falcao (Monaco), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Isco (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid) and Luis Suarez (Barcelona).

All the factz you need to know for the England v Slovakia match tonight

Here are the 10 essential factz you need to know for tonight’s England game versus Slovakia:

• England and Slovakia met in the opening round of matches in Group F, and England won thanks to a 95th minute winner from Adam Lallana.
• The match will forever be remembered as Sam Allardyce’s one and only game in charge of England. He’ll always have that 100% record…
• If England win, they’ll be 5 points clear in Group F with just two matches left to play
• After losing their first 2 matches in the group, Slovakia have won their next 5.
• Overall, Slovakia have won 6, drawn 1 and lost 3 of their last 10 internationals. Those defeats came to England, as well as friendly losses to Uganda (1-3) and a thrashing at the hands of Sweden (6-0).
• England have won 5, drawn 3 and lost 2 of their previous 10 internationals.
• The sides have met on 5 previous occasions, with England winning 4 and the other – at Euro 2016 – ending in a 0-0 draw.
• Slovakia have only scored twice against England in those 5 matches, while England have scored 9 times, including a 4-0 win.
• Slovakia’s captain is Martin Skrtel, who was a lynchpin of Liverpool’s defence for 9 seasons to 2016, and is now playing for Fenerbache in Turkey.
• Harry Kane could have opted to play for the Republic of Ireland – he qualified through his father – but had always played for England at junior levels and pledged his allegiance to the Three Lions in 2014.

N’Golo Kante wins PFA Player of the Year Award

Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante has won the 2016-17 Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Player of the Year Award.

Kante, who has been a lynchpin in the Chelsea side that is bidding to win the double this season, won the vote from his fellow players ahead of teammate

Eden Hazard, Tottenham’s Harry Kane, Zlatan Ibrahimovic of Manchester United, Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez and Everton’s Romelu Lukaku

“It’s a huge honour to be chosen by the other players. It’s the biggest honour to get this award,” Kante said.

Meanwhile, Tottenham’s Dele Alli won the young player prize for the second successive year.

Elsewhere on the night, Lucy Bronze from Manchester City won the Women’s Player of the Year award, while Birmingham City’s Jess Carter scooped the Women’s Young Player of the Year award.

The ceremony also honoured David Beckham, who received the PFA’s Merit award for his contribution to the game, and former England women’s captain Kelly Smith – England’s first woman professional footballer – who received the PFA Special Achievement award.

Chelsea and Tottenham players dominate PFA Team of the Year

Four players from each of Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur have been named in the Professional Footballer’s Association (PFA) Premier League Team of the Year.

From Chelsea, defenders Gary Cahill and David Luiz, along with midfielders N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard have been chosen.

The four from Tottenham – all England stars – are full-backs Kyle Walker and Danny Rose, midfielder Dele Alli and striker Harry Kane.

The rest of the PFA’s XI is completed by  Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, Liverpool midfielder Sadio Mane and Everton striker Romelu Lukaku.

Votes for the team came from PFA members at 100 clubs from the Premier League, Football League and Women’s Super League.